Detroit Section Award Recipients

Officers and members of the Detroit Section have been the recipients of many awards from SMPTE and other organizations.

Fellows and Life Fellows of the Society

The Fellow Grade of membership is awarded to individuals who have, by proficiency and contributions, attained an outstanding rank among engineers or executives in the

SMPTE Fellows
(l-r) John FX Browne, Richard Painter, Fred Remley

motion-picture, television or related industries. Life Fellows have attained the age of sixty-five years, an Active and/or Fellow member for at least twenty years, and at least five years of continuous membership immediately prior to nomination.


  • John F. X. Browne (Life)
  • Richard O. Painter (Life)
  • Frederick M. Remley

Citation for Outstanding Service to the Society

This Citation is intended to recognize individuals for dedicated service for the betterment of the Society over a sustained period of time. Consideration will be given for service at the Society-wide, Regional, and Section levels.

  • 2018: Charles W. Reti. For his more than 20 years of contribution to the Detroit Section as a Manager, Membership Chair, Secretary/Treasurer, and more than a decade as Section Chair. He has worked to keep the Detroit Section active by developing monthly programs and providing enduring leadership.
  • 2008: Harold Miller. Hal has been a member of the Society since 1960 and has served in several positions including Section Chair, Secretary/Treasurer (current), Manager, Membership Chair and Test Materials Advisor. He assisted with participant registration for the 20th anniversary SMPTE Winter Conference held in Detroit. He has also arranged many local Section meetings and programs. Mr. Miller has always made himself available to assist the Section every way possible and is worthy of this award.
  • 2000: Leonard W. Eden. For his outstanding service to Detroit Section. He has contributed by serving as Manager, Secretary/Treasurer, and Chairman many times in the past 25 years. Nationally, he also served as Program Chairman for the 10th Winter Conference in 1976, as well as General Chairman for the 25th Annual Conference in 1991. Eden has also arranged monthly meetings and participated on many nominating and special committees of the Detroit Section.
  • 1991: John P. Rusche. In recognition of his long-term service to the Detroit Section and his continuing leadership on a national, local, and regional level.
  • 1984: Ted H. Horn. For his services in the first and second Detroit Television Meetings. the predecessors of the present Television Conferences, and as Facilities and Projection Chairman of the 10th Television Conference.
  • 1978: Frederick M. Remley. For his involvement in all phases of the SMPTE: engineering activities, television and national conferences, editorial, Board of Governors and the Detroit Section.

Carl E. Lee Broadcast Engineering Excellence Award

First awarded in 1997, The Carl E. Lee Broadcast Engineering Excellence Award is given by the Michigan Association of Broadcasters to an engineer who has worked in, or in support of, broadcasting in Michigan, and has made contributions in development of new technologies, dissemination of technical knowledge, leadership in broadcast engineering, mentoring and coaching in engineering outside the workplace, inventions, and any other contribution which warrants consideration.

  • 2003: Eugene Wilczak
  • 2005: Helge Blucher
  • 2006: Marcus Williams
  • 2010: John Grover
  • 2012: Mike Winsky
  • 2019: Richard Grzebik
  • 2020: Frank Maynard
Print Friendly, PDF & Email